NECROPOLIS

Forgive me
if I’m not what you expected.
I won’t assure you
that I’ll become what you expect.
I possess this internal core
that’s extremely volatile.
One moment I’m who you know,
even describe me like
you would the shape of your skull
and the next moment
I could be anything.
Anything you could never truly understand.
People expect me to be the same
person I was when we last met.
I struggle to fit in their expectations
and no matter how I try, I couldn’t.
Deep within me lies a necropolis
housing a legion of my former selves.
I’m truly sorry
If I no longer fit your idea of me.

3 thoughts on “NECROPOLIS

  1. trE says:

    “I struggle to fit in their expectations
    and no matter how I try, I couldn’t.
    Deep within me lies a necropolis
    housing a legion of my former selves.
    I’m truly sorry
    If I no longer fit your idea of me.”

    You dug deeper with this one. The title, epic word choice. Great poem!

Leave a Reply

