9.

body against body
it was a hug
the most insignificant kind of hug
bearin’ and endin’ within the
fragmented passage of a minute
and yet I could hear my own heart
beatin’ fiercely on the confines of my chest
my blood racin’ back and forth with a
rush that threatened to burst open my veins
feelin’ the softness of her body on mine erupted a multitude of words achin’ to be said out
I
couldn’t bring them forth
I
who had pride myself for the mastery
of words had become incapacitated
of what to say, how to say.
In that fleetin’ moment
nothin’ else mattered in the world only she
I almost found raw happiness
I wanted us lingerin’ into forever
arms over each other,
except forever hadn’t begun
We broke apart
every inch of my body becomin’ unfamiliar to me
every inch cravin’ for her touch
She turned to leave
I turned to leave
but then I looked back to watch her tiny unplanned calculated steps dissolve into the shadows
I wanted runnin’ after her
Pick her up and pocket her
so she’s safe with me, meant for me
I felt a sparkle in my heart,
I felt emotions coursin’ through me
Instinctively I knew this one thin’
this was a moment I would never forget,
a moment that would continue to haunt me…
I smiled, grateful for this one moment. This pause in the rush of my life.

3 thoughts on “9.

  1. trE says:

    You have officially woWeD me… Here:

    “I
    who had pride myself for the mastery
    of words had become incapacitated
    of what to say, how to say.
    In that fleetin’ moment
    nothin’ else mattered in the world only she
    I almost found raw happiness
    I wanted us lingerin’ into forever
    arms over each other,
    except forever hadn’t begun
    We broke apart
    every inch of my body becomin’ unfamiliar to me
    every inch cravin’ for her touch
    She turned to leave
    I turned to leave
    but then I looked back to watch her tiny unplanned calculated steps dissolve into the shadows”

    Very good writing above; decent wordplay, visuals on point, everything wrapped into one. Nicely done. Nicely done, indeed.

Leave a Reply

